Poets logo

The Twelve Days of Online Dating

Based on a painfully true story

By Chloë J.Published 10 months ago 2 min read
10
The Twelve Days of Online Dating
Photo by Good Faces Agency on Unsplash

On the first day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

A lot of anxiety!

On the second day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the third day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the fourth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the fifth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the sixth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the seventh day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Seven new insecurities,

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the eighth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Eight days of ghosting,

Seven new insecurities,

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the ninth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Nine reasons not to,

Eight days of ghosting,

Seven new insecurities,

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the tenth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Ten nights a-crying,

Nine reasons not to,

Eight days of ghosting,

Seven new insecurities,

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the eleventh day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Eleven common interests,

Ten nights a-crying,

Nine reasons not to,

Eight days of ghosting,

Seven new insecurities,

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

And a lot of anxiety!

On the twelfth day of Bumble, my new match gave to me:

Twelve self-reflections,

Eleven common interests,

Ten nights a-crying,

Nine reasons not to,

Eight days of ghosting,

Seven new insecurities,

Six texts a-typing,

Five cancelled plans!

Four hours of silence,

Three vague answers,

Two basic questions,

AND

A

LOT

OF

ANXIETY!

humorParody
10

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Maggie Elizabeth 9 months ago

    Absolutely brilliant! I can't decide which part is my favorite, because all of this is just too real.

  • Test10 months ago

    Holy shit, this is badass. Don’t cry over those fools. People are weirdos. If they knew what a brilliant writer you are they’d be makin tracks to get with you. This is a really great piece.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is just so clever and so funny. Loved it.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    That was rather brilliant and entertaining. Awesome job! I think my favorite was “Seven new insecurities” to pile on top of the others a person may have to begin with. Never a good sign that things are going right! Loved your poem. 💖

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Ah now I'm going to have that song stuck in my head... very funny, thanks!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    LOL this was great, Cloë! I love that you kept the meter in line with the orignal! This should have Top Story in its future!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Lol this is so relatable. Especially that “lots of anxiety” part for me! That’s why I stopped online dating 😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.