Poets logo

The Turd Thief

Who You Gonna Call?

By Gail Allyson KingPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Turd Thief
Photo by Howie R on Unsplash

Lots of jobs out there cause it's the gig economy ...

and people don't care.

They walk their dog, the dogs has to poop,

and they leave it there.

Dog poop here, dog poop there;

I see dog poop everywhere.

***

It's just not cool.

***

Where's your plastic bag? Why can't you pick up that poop?

It is from your dog!

The next day you see someone walking their dog;

the dog has to potty.

They stop by your yard; let their doggy pee and poo.

You watch; you get angry.

***

What audacity!

***

You yell out your door to them:

Hey what do you think this is?

My yard is not a dog pot!

Outraged, you go outside; you pick up their doggie's poop.

You're angry.

You cannot believe anyone would be so rude.

***

It's downright crude.

***

Days later you go to take your dog for a walk;

your doggie has to poo.

You never think twice as you stop

all calm and nice,

and let your doggy poo

in a neighbor’s front yard.

***

That wasn’t so hard.

***

But there is one neighbor who watches

As an idea forms in his brain.

He says, I think I've a Gig economy idea!

I will charge a fee to pick up dog poo from everyone's yard!

You can call me Joe, you can call me any name you like,

I could call myself "the turd thief," but...

***

Then I'd make no money!

***

You hate other people’s dog poo in your yard?

I love to clean up doggie poop!

I'm the guy you need

and if you hire me,

you'll have a clean, poo-free yard.

So, who you gonna call?

***

Turd Buster!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gail Allyson King

I believe, by the grace of God, you can accomplish anything you set your mind to. My mantra: "If it's going to be, it's up to me." My motto: "Carpe Diem" - every single day. Fav saying: "Do or don't do; there is no try." (thank you, Yoda).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.