Poets logo

The Trial of Sia Bucks

Character study poem exploring one of my characters.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
The Trial of Sia Bucks
Photo by Alesia Kazantceva on Unsplash

I got a family life

that makes the Lannisters

look like Mormons.

But I must admit for

a childhood star

I think I turned out okay.

My mother always favoured

my brother over me.

I built the great well of Nigeria.

He got rejected at every college

cause his high school grades sucked.

I built an empire of TV deals.

He plays ancient games on computers.

I even made my own country.

He’s just lowly church pastor.

So how the hell is he getting all the glory?

I got pregnant six times with my ex-husband

But only Harumi survived.

He cheated on me with a robot

From a distance it looks like a real woman

He named her Takako

Then he divorced me

to marry that robot.

He said robots have feelings

and I said that’s bullshit

So he conspired with his politician friends

and got me banned from Japan.

Yuzuko, my precious granddaughter

All the things you been through

You’re already better than me

I bet they never told you that

your granddad swapped your

twin brother for a crate of beer

Ever since I was twelve I was a star

Lead singer of Pussy*Pussy*Meow*Meow

cause our manager said cats are awesome.

It’s funny they call me a terrorist

If I had a dick

they’ve call me a genius

and a business legend

Women have come a long way

But there’s still so much work to be done

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.