Poets logo

The Treacherous Road Ahead

I Will Still Find Joy Because of You

By Donna GerardPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Treacherous Road Ahead
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

Do me the favor of watching me find mindless things to do

Instead of thinking of the tears that lie ahead

Singing songs from our youth as we drive down the shore, while we still can

Tell me maybe's for a future that won't likely happen, since hope is all we have

Remind me to take out the trash and water the plants

Although I will have to remember these things, crucial or trite, all on my own some day

Call me when you need me to open your water bottle or bring you tea

Truly this stage of life will pass soon, thankfully, except that it will be replaced by something worse

I will eventually be alone, whether sooner or later, I do not yet know

Onto an expansive unknown, for I have no idea what it is to be without you

Nothing, however, not even death, can take away the past we have lived. Even in these scary times, and on the treacherous road ahead, I will still find joy because of you- because of the life we've led.

love poemssad poetryheartbreakhumanitysinglemarriagelovefamily
Like

About the Creator

Donna Gerard

Every day the world starts anew. Reframe your troubles, take a look around you, and get busy being you.

Author of Who's Tougher Than Us? The Realities of Teaching. Check it out on Amazon or go to my website, donnagerard.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.