Poets logo

The Traveler

Storyteller

By Mother CombsPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Spencer Davis on Pexels

"Bíonn siúlach scéalach"

(pronounced "Bee-on shoo-luck shkay-luck")

Which translates to "The traveler has many stories"

— Irish Proverb

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

As we sit around watching TV

Allowing our dinners to settle

No sooner did we get comfortable

Before we heard a tapping at the door.

Getting up, I went to answer the knock

Lo, I was surprised to see who stood there

For standing on my porch in his traveling gear

Was none other than the storyteller

With new stories to tell.

Welcoming him in,

He greeted Mother and the children

Each in their turn

Inviting him to sit, I offered him some barley rum

To help loosen his tongue

For we were all excited to hear of the deeds he had done

Mother turned the TV off, and the children all gathered around

To listen to what this traveler had to share

He told of his adventures on the seven seas

Then he went on to speak of his visit to Azbuktu

He mentioned his stay with the King

of some hidden rainforest temple,

That he found when he went to the Amazon

He told us of all his adventures

In return, all he needed was a hot meal and a warm bed

We stayed up late, listening to this modern-day bard

Hearing of all that he had to share with us

On this late summer night

When he had completed his tales

Mother and I carried the children to their beds to tuck them in

Returning to the den, I drank another rum shot with the traveler

He told me about the politics in foreign lands

Of the wars fought for one cause or another

He filled me in on the happenings worldwide

All before he went to bed.

The following day, after breakfast, the storyteller was on his way,

Returning us to our daily lives.

listfact or fiction

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    This is a wonderful poem! My favorite from you, so far!

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    I love this story - people who tell tales do give us a sense of adventure like no other, and you've done that too!

  • Oooo, I love this storyteller! I wish I can be him!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous fact or fiction poem!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • C.S LEWIS10 months ago

    this is so wonderful hope you will be very interested in the one I have published right now go watch it

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.