Poets logo

The Train of Missed Chances

A Symphony of What-Ifs

By a broken heartPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
The Train of Missed Chances
Photo by Charles Forerunner on Unsplash

The iron behemoth roars, steel muscles straining,

Carrying dreams and desires, destinations untaining.

Amongst the faces pressed against the pane, I stand,

Haunted by ghosts of choices, lost to fate's cruel hand.

Each station we hurtle past, a memory unfolds,

A missed glance, a whispered word, stories left untold.

The girl with eyes like summer skies, the laughter shared in haste,

Now a blur on the platform, forever outpaced.

The man with stories etched in wrinkles, a hand I couldn't reach,

Whispers of wisdom lost, lessons I couldn't teach.

The road not taken, a fork in time's cruel track,

Leaving me on this train, forever looking back.

But the train keeps moving, relentless and bold,

Towards futures unknown, stories yet untold.

A flicker of hope sparks in the rhythm of the wheels,

Can I choose a new path, heal what my heart still feels?

The journey continues, the landscape ever-changing,

Will I finally learn to embrace the new, rearrange?

For even on this train of missed chances, I see,

There's still time to write my own destiny.

If you enjoyed it, please like and follow for more!

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

a broken heart

I write poems to express my feelings since 2020... and now I'm going to start posting them! Love you all :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Yes, when one door closes, another opens. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.