Poets logo

The Library of Forgotten Faces

Whispers in Dusty Aisles

By a broken heartPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
The Library of Forgotten Faces
Photo by Catarina Carvalho on Unsplash

Towers of leather, spines whispering untold tales,

Ink-stained histories, where memory prevails.

I wander these aisles, a scholar of the human face,

Searching for solace, in this forgotten space.

Each portrait trapped in time, a universe enshrined,

Eyes reflecting joy, sorrow etched on brow and mind.

A lover's smile, forever frozen in its bloom,

A mother's tear, echoing in the silent room.

My fingertips trace forgotten dreams, hopes long dead,

Stories left unfinished, words never said.

But whispers linger, secrets the shadows hold,

Lessons of life, in stories left untold.

Will I find my own face, amongst these timeless frames?

Can I learn from their triumphs, heal from their shames?

In the library of forgotten faces, I find my plea,

To write my own story, for eternity.

If you enjoyed it, please like and follow for more!

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

a broken heart

I write poems to express my feelings since 2020... and now I'm going to start posting them! Love you all :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Can I learn from their triumphs, heal from their shames? I loved that line the most! Such a poignant and powerful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.