Poets logo

The time of our lives...

...

By Ray EckermannPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Not now. Wait a minute.

Just give me a sec.

I've a lot I must do,

I'm a Corporate Exec.

I've emails to email

and meetings to chair.

I'll try and call from the car

as I head off elsewhere.

I'll FaceTime, I'll Zoom

for your birthday tomorrow.

I'll catch you on Insta...

...remember I follow.

But always remember

why I do what I do

and I do what I do

because I do it for you.

I've worked really hard

to get up to the top,

to buy this big house

so why would I stop?

I've bought you the 'things'

your every desire.

We'll catch up and chat

when I finally retire.

So stop asking me questions.

I must concentrate!

No I can't come and play.

I'm the BOSS...you're just 8!

I'm so busy and time poor

and stuck in this room.

The fabric of life

now exceeding the loom!

I'm too busy for you

with this 'Busy Disease'

I can't catch my breath...

Make it stop please!!

And then just like that

Came Covid-19

and the world came to a stop.

What would this all mean?

For my work all dried up.

My career down the loo.

Who will I BE now?

What will I DO?

The stress and the worry

of loosing all that I had

...then a small voice spoke up...

"You've still got me Dad!"

...so now I mow lawns

and I'm never late, EVER

and every meal time

we sit down together.

The things that I thought

that made us all strong,

the money, that status

was all totally wrong!

This forced slowing down

Is the best thing I could do

to make me the best me

to make you the best you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ray Eckermann

Ray is an illustrator and ex-expeditioner who has travelled to an awful lot of the world, seen some amazing things, met some inspiring people, been shot at by some of the less inspiring people, chased, climbed, explored and became a Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.