Poets logo

The Three Californias

A Humorous Poem

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
The Three Californias
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I had to explain to this girl

that I don’t live by a beach.

*

“I live near the mountains;

we’re about as landlocked as we can be.”

*

She didn’t get it.

They never get it.

*

There’s three Californias: the Backwoods, the Bay, and LA.

*

Still don’t get it?

*

Then you don’t live in California,

and you’ll never get it.

*

I’ll try to explain it one last time:

*

There’s the Backwoods;

it’s mountains and forests and farms and cows

with just a bit of beach,

if you have the time to drive to the coast.

It’s most often called NorCal.

*

Then there’s the Bay;

it can be colder and windier and more unpredictable

than the stereotypes make it seem.

*

And then there’s LA;

it’s like something straight out of a movie

’cause it is.

It’s Hollywood.

It’s most often called SoCal.

*

I don’t live in LA!

*

I don’t live in the Bay!

*

I don’t live near a beach!

*

I live in the Backwoods, for God’s sake!

*

Sweet and simple:

*

NorCal ain’t the Bay or SoCal,

the Bay isn’t NorCal or SoCal,

and SoCal is no way in hell NorCal or the Bay.

* * *

Poet's Note: This piece was originally published on the blog "Medusa's Kitchen". You can check it out at this link:

social commentaryhumor
2

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Hahahahahahah this was hilarious! No worries, I got it!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    But you know what....I think I get it?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.