Poets logo

The Thing My Dog and I Stayed Together for 12 Years

He came and went like a dream.

By Noorain HassanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Image by Peter Paar from Pixabay

Cookie dough he was

with a healthy and smart heart

that he opened for everyone around him

but ultimately, it left us in awe

We miss him, even years later

we have a place, barren

in our heart for him

like he is still here

I wish he knows we miss him

and if we could do anything

because we’re failing every day

and searching you in every random dog

at only 8 years of age, I wished to have a dog by my side.

Cookie dough as my gift:

I was shy to request having a dog when I was only 8 years old and unable to even take care of myself.

I wrote my wish in my diary that I used to keep a secret. But little did I know that my brother knew about my secret diary.

When I first wrote about my interest, it was only 2 months before my birthday. Hence, my brother Jonas knew exactly what to gift me.

On the eve of my birthday, I recognized an open wooden chest on the side table of the sofa. I ought to believe it was a child, but I knew it was something special.

After we had our share of the cake, I was advised to unveil the wooden chest and see the gift inside.

The box had a feather and velvet coating containing a small British "Yorkshire Terrier puppy.

The puppy looked directly into my eye like we met for a reason.

I quickly held the puppy in my arms and started caressing it. Not even a few moments later, the puppy was comfortable, and we both found solace in each other.

I announced the name of my puppy, “cookie dough,” because it was chubby and cute. All along the while, I held my dog as I craved for it.

12 years later, the dog still lived with me until a few months when it passed away.

I understand that all of us have different memories with our dogs, but it’s always “memories.”

Dogs are special and loyal creatures but not meant to live long like human beings. Maybe that’s why cookie dough has a special place in my heart that nobody can steal.

Because since my 8th birthday, cookie dough and I celebrated each birthday together.

And it was wonderful!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.