Poets logo

The Thing

Surely, this'll do it for me.

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Original sketch :)

Almost there, surely, I’m almost there -

Being a little better at guitar, or learning to make

Candles will be the thing to do it;

Doing more around the house is the key; just trying a little of

Everything will surely,

Finally,

Get me to where I can lay down my

Head and rest easy, knowing I’ve done it.

I know I’m almost there, after all, so surely

Just one more project, just one more skill (like

Knitting, perhaps?) will get me there. Yes, surely

Learning to weave together little lines of fabric will be just the thing for

Me!

No, actually - that’s too basic. I need something more

Original - Perhaps I could get into

Pottery? Yes, that’s it! A

Quickly spinning wheel, and a

Room full of dust, fire, and reshapable things;

Surely, seeing as I’m almost there, that will be

THE THING to do it. Tonight I’ll rest easy

Under the warm weight of blankets and purpose,

Vexed no longer! All those other hobbies

Wouldn’t do it, and neither would

Xanax - whatever my therapist says (what does he know?) But this'll do it -

Yes, you needn't doubt. This is the thing. Although...suppose I took up

Zip lining..?

inspirationalMental HealthhumorFree Verse

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you 💙

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨3 months ago

    This is soooo well done… I didn’t even realise the poem type (always forget the names of these) until I reached the u, v, w section! This is funny, relatable (although I fully embrace that I am here on earth to experience joy exploring many pursuits - even if each week I’m onto another new one 😂 the world has too much to be experienced to be still! ) and nicely written 😁

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Hahaha this is a good one… yeah, what do they know!!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Such fun in being indecisive. That was me growing up, still not sure if I am there at age so-and-so. Yet between all the guessing you will find yourself. This was really great.

  • Hayley Matto5 months ago

    This was a fun one, read very stream of conscious in the best way possible! Also using your own sketch! So FUN!!

Gabriel HuizengaWritten by Gabriel Huizenga

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.