Poets logo

The Taken

I listen I hear

By Astride EvansPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
The Taken
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

dear to my heart

that bleeds with the broken the without

the dead speaks to me

whispers of the past hear them

still sharp in a memory

that appreciates

calls to the unknown

cries of thanksgiving

gratitude’s spell devotion’s power

short life and silent are eyes

hidden devoid of

realities sting

I caress, long to remember

those who were taken

taken far too soon

whose spirit misses

the cool of the pond

the chill of the wind

warmth of a summers swim

blind I feel the lost heart

a swan who glides no longer

press against my soul body

I listen I hear

I cry inside

we together

childrens poetrybuyers guideBalladartAcrostic

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake10 days ago

    "the cool of the pond the chill of the wind warmth of a summers swim" A nice relation from nature!

AEWritten by Astride Evans

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.