Poets logo

The Storybook Life I Wrote Without You In It

Not the prince I thought you were

By Carla SofiiLove Garcia Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Storybook Life I Wrote Without You In It
Photo by Aung Soe Min on Unsplash

Pencil to paper I started to write,

The fairytale of our existence.

Word for word, I wrote of how our worlds unite,

Expressing my constant efforts and persistence.

Coming to a crossroads between the beginning and now,

Waiting for the next sentence to appear,

When it dawned on me that you’ve let me down,

Never telling you the truth, in so much fear.

Scared to lose the one I’ve loved most,

Realizing this story hasn’t even began,

This story was about a past ghost,

Of a nonexistent figure, a fictitious man.

You did exist once upon a dream,

Once in a realm, one I created,

But once I had you, it wasn’t what it seemed,

All you really did was show to be negated.

I unwrite you from my chapters, I erase you from my story,

This is the last time I wonder what happened, or even just worry.

You weren’t the prince that rode up to rescue once before,

In fact never the prince, but a damn whore.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Carla SofiiLove Garcia

Writing is my passion... find me on Twitter @goddesswriter90.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.