Poets logo

the storm

the storm

By Ember GrayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
the storm
Photo by allison christine on Unsplash

Lightning flashes as I lay in my bed alone.

The sky isn't the only one who needs release.

Soft rain pitters against the window pane

as soft droplets hit my pillow.

The dark clouds churn their anger and frustration,

thunder rumbling low.

I try to stifle my own worries,

trying not to make a sound.

Racing thoughts in my mind as I lay,

hoping for sleep to quiet the noise.

The wind whispers it's concerns to me,

and I do the same.

I worry this is all it will be.

Just enjoying the company,

not looking to the future.

Different pages in the same book,

chapters apart.

On autopilot,

slowly going from day to day.

As much as I take comfort in the storm,

will the rain ever stop?

Will I be able to see the sun?

What if,

this all that I have?

Quickly going nowhere,

wanting to sprint forward.

I turn in bed as I pull the covers tightly around me.

I cannot watch the storm anymore.

I need to find the sun.

But what if,

all my searching leads me to nowhere?

What if the sun won't come out.

What if I don't find the answers I want?

Another tear hits my pillow

as I close my eyes and wish for sleep.

If only I knew we could weather the storm together.

The dark room begins to press in on me.

A familiar, almost comforting pressure.

I fear I will be stuck in the rain by myself.

Perhaps I should buy a new raincoat and just accept it.

Rain continues as I wish for sleep.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ember Gray

Just a twentysomething Midwest girl with a story to tell.

Find me on Twitter at @embergray

Book featuring a collection of these poems and short stories coming out in August!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ashlie Cross2 years ago

    Very nice work!

  • Kassie Kelly2 years ago

    I like it when I stumble upon a piece that really hits home.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.