Poets logo

The storm moves

a poem

By James M. PiehlPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A small window of blue closes as the clouds turn into a full storm

A rash crack of thunder

hammers the air

with its brutal fist

The night sky lit with the fire flash

of lightening

My heart is witness

but nothing shakes me

like the terrific dance

of your eyes

burned into my memory

The only photograph

I cannot remove

It is a summer storm

that brandishes its full calculated

blast against the dark

Somehow I remain

disciplined

Keep my arms still

when you are near me

Keep my hands

from a slow race across your body

like a lightening trail

across the sky

Somewhere in my life

I try to harness the full ability

to be something

At least that is what I think

An ace

that has been played like a duece

But your eyes are softest

when we speak

They hold

my bold advances

or desire hints across my sky

That you have made clear

in your off handed kindness

In your polite

not even sure it is like

that you have for me

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

James M. Piehl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.