Poets logo

The States of Lovers

A poem and short film from my upcoming book FRACTURED PERCEPTIONS

By Meri UtkovskaPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
2
β€’\ 𝑴𝒐𝒐𝒏𝒉𝒆𝒂𝒅, 2023, from the 𝐅𝐑𝐀𝐂𝐓𝐔𝐑𝐄𝐃 ππ„π‘π‚π„ππ“πˆπŽππ’ series. Β© Meri Utkovska, @marigoldintheether & @arayofsigh

My states of pining

are a continuation with no rest stops –

they flow,

they grow,

they sow rains where the clouds of the mind

have made their home.

And mine is the sunshine

on a dry winter morning,

when the ice puddles crackle

under time’s turning wheels,

and children step on water

that tucked herself in and went to sleep.

My states of silence

are an edifice,

a silver chime caught in the play of the wind –

they bend backward,

they discompose,

they turn into lovers

where the hands lay with anticipation.

And mine is the star

that dies on a midsummer’s day,

when the air is warm and smells

of dust and wildflowers, and the nights

are cool and sing of shipless waters.

My states of pining

are a song with no singer –

O, they love,

they dream,

they pick the subtlest of your movements

and with them, they write poetry.

And mine is the darkly

sway of the pen,

when I sit with hopes of greatness,

and I find an ordinary enchantment, instead.

My states of silence

are endless ocean waves –

they crash,

they fall,

they carry birds on their shoulders.

And mine is the briefness

of moments,

when a breath turns to a kiss,

a cat walks proudly on the edge of a street,

and sunsets sink into

a dreamless sleep.

And my states,

they are what they’ve always been –

dewdrops in a field with no end,

and no beginning.

β€’

Visit my website to discover more of my work:

https://mutkovska.wixsite.com/arayofsigh

β€’

#arayofsigh #arayofsighbook #arayofsighchannel #blackandwhitemovie #spokenword #poetryinmotion #poemoftheday #spokenwordpoetry #loveislove #lovers #dreamy

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakart
2

About the Creator

Meri Utkovska

My name is Meri and I am a writer, photographer, artist, and author of the book A RAY OF SIGH: The Eternal Circle Where You and I Reside.

Discover more of my work on my website: https://mutkovska.wixsite.com/arayofsigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Fantastic πŸ’™πŸ’šβ€οΈπŸ§‘πŸ€ŽπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ©ΆπŸ©΅β™₯οΈπŸ©·πŸ’“πŸ’• well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.