Poets logo

The Stars I Try to Tame

An Old Poem

By Caleb GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit | Erik Koeppel B. "The Yosemite Valley". 1980. Oil on Canvas. |

The Stars I Try to Tame

My words don't flow

As they did in the valley;

My heart can't outshine

The light of a new day:

I'm standing upon the threshold

Of mountains, still,

Wishing upon the stars,

I've been trying to tame.

The parallax of a dream

Observed in different seasons:

At my lowest I can't see,

What at my highest I can't seem

To touch, in spite

Of every illusion that I can;

From here the universe rests

In the breadth of my crippled hands.

In the void of fulfillment, now,

I'm lost in all directions;

Standing at the pole with a compass,

As a vagrant to this hollow reality.

Perhaps the night wind sings -

Perhaps his melody is sweet -

he beckons his brothers, Time and Change,

With me, to cross paths and meet.

Aye! Not but a sojourner of thought

In these lands I could've claimed;

The terrain is arranged in such ways

That wayfarers are struck with malaise -

A feeling that pervades the age -

Afraid to acknowledge the implicit truth:

That we only live as long as the memory

of those who know our names.

Here, we light our incenses of sage and waft

the scent of each dream high into our heads;

Holding fast to the hope that perhaps,

they won't be subject to the same fate

As the putrescible shell which holds them.

Counting not that we cannot cure

Our lack of faith by earthly means,

We close our eyes, speaking as though we can see.

~ Caleb G. | Wednesday, 27 November 2019 ~

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Caleb Green

Just a young, soon-to-be college student with a passion for writing (:

I've written poetry, prose, thoughts, quotes, and short stories on other platforms before in my leisure, but this is this first time I've done something like this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.