Poets logo

The Spectrum of My Existence

a variation of the sestina

By Angie SeminaraPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
The Spectrum of My Existence
Photo by Sean Sinclair on Unsplash

When people cast their gaze on me, they can see I’m small.

They look for me in the swamp green shallows because I can’t stand in the deep.

But the shallows are too shaded, and the deep end is so bright.

The yellow and white are feet away, so it is asinine to stay in the dark.

All it takes is stamina and courage to be among the vibrant.

So in the sun I swim, living life in bold.

Sometimes it’s not enough to be bold.

There is wisdom in knowing when to highlight yourself and when to stay small.

Being silent doesn’t mute you or make you less vibrant,

In fact, it makes you more deep.

Bravery is recklessness when you don’t listen, and it will keep you in the dark

So the layer of self restraint added to my hue is part of what makes me bright.

I’ve always been told I am bright.

They say that I’m a shade of brilliant neon and bold

But my b’s and d’s and my m’s and w’s made my mind dark.

So my beacon was hard work and hiding ever since I was small.

But even though having a dull knife painted with blood red shame cut deep,

I have learned I don’t have to get gold to be vibrant.

The amber and assurance in my eyes is vibrant.

My very presence makes a room bright.

The things that I do are small,

But my optimism leaves my name underlined and bold.

In the ocean I’m bioluminescent, you can see my smile no matter how deep,

and despite my pain I always glow, no matter how dark.

I used to be afraid of the dark.

It’s normal to think the darkness holds monsters when we are small,

but no one tells you they can come out when it’s bright.

For years I ran towards the end of the rainbow while I pretended to be vibrant,

But deciding to heal forced me to be bold.

So now I am lustrous, but the variation in my sediment is deep.

My biggest asset is that my bullpen is deep

At the end of the 9th when the stadium turns dark,

My team stays together and stays bright.

Even when we lose we are vibrant,

Because the navy pinstripes mean family and that is not small.

My ochre roar is bold, my Tyrian purpura loss is deep.

My corium is olive and small, my onyx past is dark.

But despite it all, my iridescent aura is vibrant, and my golden future is bright.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Angie Seminara

reader. writer. artist. advocate. musician. fire enthusiast.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • My Name Is Not Cypress2 years ago

    ”So in the sun I swim, living life in bold.“ Love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.