Poets logo

The Song

Nostalgia

By Daniel ColePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I heard a song today I’d never heard before

A symphony that ‘peared to me

Like new grass on the plain

I heard a song just yesterday; of this I’m raptly sure

The chords serene so quickly flee

As if in haste, disdain

I heard a song the other day that I can bear no more

Its words so sweet I can’t complete

They’ve washed away like rain

I’d heard a song not long ago of patient love’s reward

And I can see what was will be

When met with its refrain

I hear a song at once anew; I’d yearned listening for

The aching cease gives way to peace

True notes in e’ery strain

I heard a song I sang today, of futures to explore

Of harmony my heart believes’ll

Return with you again

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Cole

Author and artist, I'm finding my spirit again late in life. Old passions for poetry borne of love, loss, hope and pain, things with which everyone is familiar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.