Poets logo

The Slipperiest Slope

Whether my glass is half-empty or half-full, time can only pour.

By Josh MorganPublished about a month ago 1 min read
The Slipperiest Slope
Photo by Alex Perez on Unsplash

i'm slipping, into the future,

seconds turn into seasons

minutes turn into memories

i watch the sand grains fall

who will be there to catch me?

i'm genuinely asking,

it won't be long before the years are gone

but if the hands on the clock were mine,

i'd only have a lot more on my mind

day or night, on the clock or in a dream-

the same eight hours pass

what was once in front of me now lies in my past

my thoughts skip reality,

they won't wait for the present

i can't remember the last,

but i can see them in my rearview

it's all i couldn't believe

and all i only thought i could achieve

so, i'm not really a fan of mirrors

tell me- are knowledge and belief the same thing?

i'm genuinely asking-

because,

what's in my chest, and what's on my mind,

they're not quite the same

will the clock run enough to get them in line?

i'm genuinely asking

half‐full or half‐empty, time can only pour-

how many hours are really left in the glass?

i'm genuinely asking

days of dreams

nights of fears

weeks of war

month by month, memories are written

it won't be long before the years are gone

if continue to slip, into tomorrow,

eventually i will fall into forever

will someone be there to catch me?

i'm genuinely asking

performance poetryFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Another heartfelt piece. I just stumbled upon you. I do like your style.

Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.