Poets logo

The Sirens Call Me

My Life After Law Enforcement

By Kyle MaddoxPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Sirens Call Me
Photo by Michael Förtsch on Unsplash

The sirens call me. Wrenching the loose ends of my soul with every wail.

Flooding me with feelings of brotherhood, pride, and the time I thought I could never fail.

The sirens call me. My brain anticipates the radio dispatching me a call.

Yet nothing comes, and I’m reminded of the consequences of my fall.

The sirens call me. Causing my adrenaline to spike.

I still haven’t adjusted to civilian life and what that’s fully like.

The sirens call me. Memories of brothers and sisters flash through my mind.

Their warm smiles bring me back to days long behind.

The sirens call me. I want to tell them how much they are missed.

But I'm here in California, with nothing to do but reminisce.

The sirens call me. I think of my old friends and the uniform every day.

Yet this was my fate. There was no other way.

The sirens call me. At times I question my path, wondering if I should reroute.

But I've found new people in LA who love me, and that's what life is all about.

The sirens call me. Begging me to return.

Yet I remain in Hollywood, pursuing the dreams I’ve always yearned.

The sirens call me. I made mistakes, but I am proud of the profession I once led.

Today their song reminds me of what I’ve overcome, and I’m excited for what’s ahead.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kyle Maddox

My goal is to make you think or feel something.

Doing my best to navigate the entertainment industry.

Want a custom story? commissions at the link below

https://www.fiverr.com/kylemaddox/write-your-short-story-script-or-sketch

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 4 months ago

    Wow, this is beautiful! Thank you for sharing this.

  • Brin J.2 years ago

    Touching. This is how I feel when I see an animal. But I needed a break from my career in animal care... The despair I felt when there was nothing I could do to stop their suffering was unbearable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.