Poets logo

The Silent Letter

Often heard but never spoken

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

It is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all,

Such was my sentiment too, till last summer's fall.

Words have never failed me before as they do now,

Why should this happen to me and how?

Now this has me staring at an empty piece of paper,

That carries my message of love in a silent letter.

A story that foretells the beginning and the end,

Of messages I wrote but never sent.

The presence was always felt but never seen,

Until it came in to being, as it was meant to be.

With fear I hold in my hand an empty piece of paper,

That will carry my message of love in a silent letter.

A restlessness grows in me, waiting to be free,

Free from doubts and questions, ere all that I be.

Day turns to night, as the cold wind blows by,

As my feeble mind concocts all scenarios amidst sighs.

Such is the state of my mind as I am writing on an empty piece of paper,

That shall carry my message of love in a silent letter.

Who is to say of the words I may use one day,

To conquer someone's heart.

That on a rainy day I may be left stranded,

With the broken pieces of my own heart.

But with hope I write on an empty of piece of paper,

That will carry my message of love in a silent letter.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.