Poets logo

The Short and Curvy Road

a poem about moving forward in life

By Angela SchnaubeltPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Short and Curvy Road
Photo by dan carlson on Unsplash

The road is paved and does not call to me. The beautiful, thick, winter-barren woods do not call to me.

It is morning, and I am turning my back on this picutre of my past so that I may go forward onto an unpaved and wild path. My past does not beckon to me. The solid, yellow lines were rules and boundaries set by others -- "do not cross that line!" The trees in the morning light of my life are foreboding, not welcoming.

Now, my own sure hands will forge a path into the afternoon of my life. My woods will be magical, green, and summoning, with peaceful sunny clearings. Even the thicket will at times provide an aromatic and serene repose.

Such is and will be my life as I proactively create it.

(written in March, 2000 when I was just 31 years old)

inspirationalnature poetry
1

About the Creator

Angela Schnaubelt

Stage 4 cancer survivor and thriver. Marketing strategist and business development coach for alternative health practitioners. World traveled, intelligent and ambitious yet heart centered. Lover of nature, animals, and life!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    A lovely, wistful and hopeful reflection on the paths of life. I hope you are now finding that sunny road.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.