Poets logo

The Serenity of Buddha

The path to liberation is not an easy one…

By Jupiter GrantPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Serenity of Buddha
Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

Often I have wished for the serenity of Buddha,

to be unfettered and detached from cravings of all kinds.

Siddhartha taught that such desires cause ourselves to suffer,

still I can not quite manage to break free from them, I find.

I catch myself tied up in knots, consumed and plagued by wanting,

no matter how I tell myself existence is illusion.

Deceitful Mara’s cunning trap of temptation and distraction,

preventing my enlightenment, and causing much confusion.

Serene Gautama Buddha held against the lures of Mara.

Alas I am not skilled enough to likewise be un-swayed

by desire, discontentment, and the power of attachments.

I have much work to do to reach Nirvana, I’m afraid.

©️ Jupiter Grant, 2021

Enjoyed this poem? Please send me a tip below so I can keep writing.

Jupiter Grant is a self-published author, blogger, narrator, and audiobook producer. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/jupitergrant

More poetry by Jupiter Grant here on Vocal Media:

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jupiter Grant

Writer, Poet, Narrator, Audiobook Producer, Freelancer.

As you may have guessed, Jupiter Grant is my nom de plume. I’m a purveyor of fiction, poetry, pop culture, and whatever else takes my fancy on any given day.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.