Poets logo

The Secret History of Insecurity

And the under-representation of the heaviness of “purity”

By Dakota Love DanglerPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Secret History of Insecurity
Photo by Laura Rivera on Unsplash

I am not the girl he thought I would be.

But how could he know when he was just eighteen?

More than me at fourteen, fifteen…

Piss poor attempt of swimming upstream.

Maybe I could plant a seed, and with time and growth he and I can both see.

The old will wash away and the new will bring the pulsing heat.

What happens if the old gets tangled in the drain?

How do we keep new from running vain?

We fill the inner frame of his locker.

I am praying he hung a mirror on his heart…

Is it even possible that he still admires his high school art?

love poemssocial commentarysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dakota Love Dangler

Because it's easier to write my thoughts than speak them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.