Poets logo

The Sea Inside

A Beached Sailor's Song

By Jack DrakePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
8
Photo by J.R.H. The accoutrements of the beached sailor

When I awake this morning,

The warm, slow Sun rising

Will burn away the mist...

I feel the dark, blue sea!

My wind the filling sail,

My soul the blowing wind,

My blood the salt water.

I hear the crashing waves!

Then, soon, gone as it came,

I am there, a moment...

Between rest and awake,

The world, the sea inside.

Yet, I still taste the spray!

My old, broken body,

My lost, struggling mind,

My pain troubled being.

Yet, I still touch the wheel!

Breathing slow, I stand the heave,

The swaying wood deck creaks.

Sheets whip and crack above...

Hold strong, hang tough, hold fast!

I smell tar, tobacco!

My gill cup hangs a'hook,

My blade on lanyard be,

My feet bare, gripping firm.

I see my shipmates smile!

I am back again there,

Before the mast, turn to!

Second star to the right...

A tall ship, brass compass.

I know my vessel, true!

My wife, the deep ocean,

My mistress, woman sweet,

My love, the horizon.

I want more rum, and stew!

I left my marks, she too!

Come about, watch the boom,

Stand by the braves, quick!

To the topsail, lively!

I dream of home, warmth!

My vision dimming now,

My mem'ry laden full,

My time, sand running out.

I lay, precarious!

There is a storm ahead!

This course I cannot hold.

Caught in irons, locked!

Waves crash! Mera's chill wrath...

I focus hard, once more!

My family, the crew,

My crew, the children,

My song, sings loud to me.

I let go, ride it out!

Tumble towards rocks, shore,

In crisis, but the helm holds!

Sturdy, the oak was,

Woven fate and canvas.

I am awake, beached!

My life, a voyage long,

My heart tried, true, and bold,

My pain, joy, and pride earned.

I long for what I was!

Land, unsteady underfoot,

Trees, hills, mountains... still.

Livestock, dogs, horses, goats, too.

A Jack's labor to do!

I gaze at the bright stars!

My reward, apple trees,

My future, buzzing bees,

My place, here in the valley.

I watch the flags flutter!

The sea inside remains,

I go there 'tween day, night,

Far places... odyssey!

Yes, they will wait for me.

I am ready to shove off!

My trunk waits, packed and ready,

My tiller hand grips firm,

My cap cocked, jaunty grin!

I won't die a dry death!

When I sleep this night,

The silver moon setting,

Will turn the tide homeward...

-- J.R.H

performance poetry
8

About the Creator

Jack Drake

It is what it is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.