Poets logo

The Screen in My Pocket

Distraction in the Viral Age

By Steve HansonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
4
The Screen in My Pocket
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

Damn near ten thousand buzzing flies around,

ICloud updates, Twitter rage, TikTok trends.

Still thousands more lights blazing on my phone.

Talk of war and crime, and ragebait newly found,

Ripe from some algorithm. Still, my face bends

Against the world, down to the screen, that, alone,

Can satisfy a hunger deep, or be a friend,

Til the next throb of light sparks, the next sigh.

I suppose this is what distraction is—

Only hunger deeper than the searching eye,

Near morning, but dragged down to an abyss.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    I really appreciate your very literal take on the Dancing with Distraction Challenge, Steve! Your choice of vernacular and turn of phrase is very pleasing and engaging. I appreciate your descriptive language that painted a well formed imagine as I read the poem, well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.