Poets logo

The Sands of Time

A Look at the Little Things

By Whitney RodenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Time is like fine grains of sand

No matter how hard you try, it slips through your hands

You try to grab it

You try to hold on

But still, it won't fit

And suddenly it's gone

The same grain of sand can never be found again

Just like you can't relive way back when

It's hard to hear, and I would know

But that's just the way it goes

Sometimes you fall

Sometimes you cry

Sometimes you hit a wall

And sometimes you cry

Eyes open on their first day, and close on their last

So, what have we to gain by living in the past

For time is like fine grains of sand

You'll never hold this piece again

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Whitney Roden

My name is Whitney and I have been an avid reader since I was 3. I am currently going to school to be an educator for elementary and collaborative students. I am also a painter and photographer. I hope you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.