Poets logo

The Road You Take

Which One You are Walking Now?

By Natalia GrinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4

Talk to me about the road you take.

Which one you are walking on now?

Is it the one that was paved for chosen

With inherited wealth before they were born?

Not a single pothole, smooth and even,

Not marked with signs: Slow Down or Turn.

The riders glide with ease like waltzing.

If one ends up in a ditch, burnt by fame,

Getting too high from spoils and laxness

it’s one’s own doing, no one’s to blame.

Or is it the one like a busy highway

Where each traveler follows the rule?

With no attempts to break out from crowd,

Sticking to schedule, timed and dull.

Respectful, measured

Stop, go, speed up, go,

Without much choice

Proceed with the flow.

Or is it the one, a path through the mountains?

Finding your way between the boulders,

Testing the ground before advancing…

Daring, enduring, not for cowards.

A treacherous landslide halts the progress

Forcing to search for a way around.

Scraped knees, blistered feet and fingers

Ignored, it would not slow you down.

Now’s my turn to talk about a road,

A short one, when the day is fading.

A road to a special place called home

Most vital and the most endearing.

The place where someone special is waiting

Eyes lit up with joy and happiness,

Warm hand touching your shoulder lightly,

Soft voice saying your name with fondness.

That’s where you find much needed support,

That’s where you get all your strengths.

Compelling your daring spirit to soar,

To walk the road of your life till it ends.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Natalia Grin

Be informed. Be aware. We can fight the online scam. Together.

Scam fighter//Souls rescuer//Thinker//Researcher

God bless my battle

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Ms. Natalia - I'm 'Ringing my Underdeveloped Brains' why I haven't discovered your marvelous work before? *As I scroll through your presentations I've subscribed to you with pleasure. I'm commenting under this story because I've just placed a story in the 'Criminal' Section while I noticed yours. And, it was pointed out to me you liked my silly 'Peep Show' so if you like silly. Please scroll to the 'Collie' in my story 'This is DUDE' in the Humor section; it may give you a giggle, too? Your 'Original' work among many "Creative" Ways-to-Write-Writer's among us is so refreshing to view. I'm just a retired legal biz writer morphed into a self described 'Goof Writer' nothing more. I'm not into challenges or rewards. I just don't understand the (4) letter word groupies among us; can't they fill-in better than that? Sorry, I'm just an oldster StoryTeller and out of the popular loop. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I am somewhere between the mountain and the last one, Choices make you who u are. Lovely, lovely. Nostalgia in all your words.

  • Joseph June2 years ago

    Phew 👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.