Poets logo

The Road

A Journey

By Gabriel DentlerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm told the road is long and dark,

It's cold and weighs upon the heart,

A bitter, grey and ceaseless rain,

Belittered with regret and pain.

It winds in bleak disquietude,

And binds each one in solitude,

One wonders when the storm may end,

As thunders rend the soul again.

And borne our tears 'pon hollow wind,

So worn we are who are chagrined,

For thoughts of whence it all may lead,

Distraught, we wander as we plead.

For light to break the dismal grey,

And night no longer hold its sway,

Yet step 'pon step the storm shall rage,

Tis the sorrow of the age.

And lo, I pass, or reach the end,

The road will be my dearest friend.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gabriel Dentler

I have 4 loves. I love my God. I love words. I love mystery. I love suspense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.