Poets logo

The Revolution

What I experienced one summer afternoon in Huntsville Alabama

By Salina BrillaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Band Negro Terror taken by Salina Brilla

I saw the revolution

In the brown eyes that spoke at me

I didn't even have to see his mouth move

The mask he wore did not muffle his words, his eyes so strong I understood

The older white woman in front of me

An older white woman then me

Told him that two black kids were out of their car, and there were four cop cars.

She hoped they were safe. He said nothing

She was referring to the traffic incident

I noticed it too as I pulled into the store

I looked at the races of the people involved

I watched the behavior of the Police

Huntsville ALWAYS has four cop cars show up

She left, and I my moved up my six feet

I don't have on a mask, but social distance

I gave him my intended purchase

I know the woman had meant sympathy

I know she was doing "white friendly"

I said "It was a traffic incident, everyone involved was Black, the officers weren't acting poorly, it's a strange world we live in where I feel I have to tell you that."

I felt embarrassed and studdered

"It is a strange world" he replied

"Maybe they know we are watching them"

I was referring to the police, it's 2020

He knew who I meant, and that is when

He looked up at me, right in my eyes

"They don't give a F@ck, they are arrogant, They believe they are above the law, and they will find out they are not, if they are arrogant it's coming for them!"

I imagined his teeth clenched in anger

I replied "understood" and took my bag

It's a book store, only readers choose to work in book stores, this in an intelligent young man. With guts, to swear and own his message while doing his job.

I came home and told my son and his friend, I think I just met the revolution.

Indeed he looked me right in my eyes

No hesitation, no malice. No consent

I did not feel fear, rather applaud

$8.69 was my purchase, the cost to witness the future. If you know numbers you understand, if you do not, learn

Cause it's coming, its lead by smart fearless young people who do not give a F@ck

Jun 26, 2020, 5:12 PM

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Salina Brilla

I am a Writer, Artist, Tarot Reader, Music Booker and Promoter. I write poetry and paint when I have something inside of me that needs to come out. I write about bands, Tarot, concepts and idea's I feel the necessity to share with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.