Poets logo

Walks Amongst The Apocalypse

COVID-19 in Alabama

By Salina BrillaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo of the Demon Stump Skull on Monte Sano Mountain by, Salina Brilla

Walks amoungst The Apocalypse

By Salina Brilla

A lit cigarette in the middle of a barren road.

Not even half smoked, I look around,

Nothing in sight, who did it come from?

A bud light can, an empty Corona bottle

Second walk today, a day of nowhere to go.

Drinking whiskey and water since Friday

Let a virus try to get in here, get in me

Hope you can swim, no, hope you can drown

Next street over a black woman on a phone

"They held a gun to your head and you cried?"

She tosses her trash in the bin, heads inside

shaming the assumed man on the other line.

A dog stands in front of an open doorway

Some kind of a collie mix, unleashed yet tame

Stares at us, my dog and I as we walk past

Television inside, Netflix and chill

Birds chirping, flowers beginning to bud

Spring isn't stopping, nature unmoving

Yesterday I put my finger to a droplet on a bud

An unopened baby flower, it tasted of life.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Salina Brilla

I am a Writer, Artist, Tarot Reader, Music Booker and Promoter. I write poetry and paint when I have something inside of me that needs to come out. I write about bands, Tarot, concepts and idea's I feel the necessity to share with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.