Poets logo

The Red Turtle

"... but things that revile can easily beguile ..."

By CaeizarPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Artwork by Alex Cipriano @alexciprianoart

I never imagined how things would be

On my long journey surviving the sea

My life untouched until you did hurtle

And wrecked my raft you cursed red turtle

+

Was no need for anything in my life

No grief or desire for any dear wife

But then my boat sailed right into your strife

And all turmoil grew and became so rife

+

I tried again and again to move past

With every energy that I did cast

But I was denied to escape at last

To my large life beyond in the great sea

+

Screamed and shouted thus at my denial

Brought me to so hate you and revile

As I journeyed, walking through this trial

Of how to deal with your deep obstruction

+

But things that revile can easily beguile

Any heart to move from sheer venom to a warm smile

Go from not moving an inch to going any mile

Just to see their face and hold and embrace for a while

+

Red turtle how did I ever hate thee

Your eyes and life are such a mystery

I want you and I to make history

With the moments that we share here and now

+

Through every tide and everything curtal

Through life's great bounty verdant and fertile

Rebuffing all bad that life can hurtle

With you my sweet beautiful Red Turtle

artfact or fictionlove poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Caeizar

Take a drink from my words and see. See the words that make truly me. Let me be your mysterious guide, to unveil the visage I try to hide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.