Poets logo

the red tenement

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
the red tenement
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

the devil left no forwarding address

just a wake of broken promises

and a strong stench of shame

.

I stood outside the red bricked house

my face washed in hot morose

as I remembered every nightmare

.

every trial I was put through

every limit I was pushed to

the sound of my sanity snapping

.

the devil left no forwarding address

just a wake of broken promises

and laughter that I came

how tosad poetryfact or fiction

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Ooh this is so chilling and mysterious. It gives off vibes of like a specific type of movie but I can't explain it. I really enjoyed it and loved the title too!!

  • The sound of my sanity snapping. I loved that line so much! This poem is like a prequel to a villain origin story. Monsters aren't born, they are made. But yes, I know that we shouldn't become a monster just because we've been treated badly. Your poem was very melancholic and poignant!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Something about this is super chilling! Like the devil is a stalker!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Very engaging 😁

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem! Also, I know where the devil lives if you want his address! It’s 666 Hellbrook Rd, Gumshoon, Missouri!

Kayleigh Fraser ✨Written by Kayleigh Fraser ✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.