Poets logo

The Rain.

A Poem

By Katlyn OliverPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Rain.
Photo by Nick Nice on Unsplash

As I sit here and watch the rain, I find myself thinking of you. The rain allows for growth, specifically the growth of nature.

But, the rain can damage nature as well, if the rain falls too hard or for long periods of time.

Like the rain, you brought life to me; mended my broken petals, and cleansed my veins with hope.

But like the rain you came and you went, without any warning.

And like nature, I became lifeless without you.

Plants use photosynthesis to create new life for themselves, using the sun and water to develop nutrients; food for them to grow.

In a way, I used photosynthesis too. I found other things to help me grow.

Although, I needed you; you were a part of me, I needed other things, too, so I could fully flourish.

The rain always brings sunshine, and after you I found light; light within myself, within the world around me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Katlyn Oliver

Hello, I'm Katlyn!

You will find me here because I am super passionate about writing and I love to share my personal stories/experiences. I am currently in the process of earning my MSW at Pitt University, with hopes of being a counselor!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.