Poets logo

The Race Is On

A poem

By Mother CombsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Nightcafe creation

I’m so far behind

So much to catch up on

I’m entirely out of the loop

The chickens have flown the coop

I’ve so much to do

There is so much to see

So here I go

You watch and see

I’ll come up from behind

And pass you by

Because the race is on

And I refuse to come in last

performance poetryinspirationalFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Rick Henry Christopher 5 months ago

    Love it, Sharon. Run! Run! Run! But make sure to warm up first cause those shin splints are something awful.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Inspiring. Love this one!

  • Mohammed Darasi5 months ago

    A good anthem for self motivation 😊

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    I love your forward momentum! Make sure to take care of yourself on the way to the front of the pack :)

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I love Hannah's son's optimism, participating is the win. So back winner is an Inverse winner by far.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    My son, losing in the race on his first ever sports day, came to me looking cheerful and claiming to be "the back winner". Last need not be a problem.

  • Yayyyyyy sooooo happy to have you back! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • You go on ahead, Mother. I'll meet you there.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous inspirational poem!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Kodah5 months ago

    💖 Incredible 💖

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Amazing job!!!

  • Test5 months ago

    FFS SLEEP! LYLAS

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.