Poets logo

“The Pursuers”

by Pablo Gonzales, Jr

By Pablo GonzalesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am chased to the ends of all I know,

Unrelenting they nip at my heels,

If I stop I fear it is I they will plow,

I know I am no the only one who feels

I see others around me being chased like me,

All of us heading towards the same end with nowhere,

They all look fearful like me as they flee,

The end is getting closer and the pursuers are still there

They catch me and them inevitably,

What I can I do to avoid this fate,

There is one way most definitely,

I see a bright gate

Woefully it is behind all and me,

I must turn around to get there and escape,

But they will catch me and probably take me in glee,

I must stop and disregard the possible future landscape

If I must end it will not be a pathetic end,

Here I stop and run you all through instead!

I run with more strength than before who cares if I rend,

If I can finally stop running to my end then into the bloodshed,

They fall dead as I run past them,

Forget about all my previous dread,

They are nothing to me as my fear is now numb,

I have reached the gate and now I see behind me widespread,

They saw and are now storming their own beachheads like nuclear warheads!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Pablo Gonzales

Just a guy getting his creative side some exercise.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.