Poets logo

The Protest

What was the boy on 'is back?

By Bg DasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Protest
Photo by Mike Von on Unsplash

I say 'e isn't Remorse!

'Ow do I know?

Saw 'im on Riccarton course

Two year ago!

Think I'd forget any 'orse?

Course 'e's The Crow!

Bumper Maginnis and I

After a "go",

Walkin' our 'orses to dry,

I says "Hello!

What's that old black goin' by?"

Bumper says "Oh!

That's an old cuddy of Flanagan's,

Runs as The Crow!"

Now they make out 'e's Remorse.

Well, but I know.

Soon as I came on the course

I says "'Ello!

'Ere's the old Crow."

Once a man's seen any 'orse,

Course 'e must know.

Sure as there's wood in this table,

I say 'e's The Crow.

(Cross-examied by the Committee.)

'Ow do I know the moke

After one sight?

S'posin' you meet a bloke

Down town at night,

Wouldn't you know 'im again when you meet 'im?

That's 'im all right!

What was the brand on 'is 'ide?

I couldn't say,

Brands can be transmogrified.

That ain't the way,

It's the look of a 'orse and the way that 'e moves

That I'd know any day.

What was the boy on 'is back?

Why, 'e went past

All of a minute, and off down the track.

"The 'orse went as fast?"

True, so 'e did! But my eyes, what a treat!

'Ow can I notice the 'ands and the seat

Of each bumble-faced kid of a boy that I meet?

Lor'! What a question to ast!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Bg Das

Passonate writing and love writing poems

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.