Poets logo

The Proposal

A Comical Ballad

By Victory Harry IzevbekhaiPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
1

'Twas a busy evening

On my way back from work

Soon the day would darken

And demons and angels would lurk.

Lucky for me, it was the latter I saw.

What compelled me to gaze at my rear mirror,

I cannot phantom

But walking a little distance behind my cross-tour,

Was this angel in medical uniform.

I slowed down,

I wound down,

While she approached.

With legs so elegant did she approach.

Catwalking even better than a pageant coach,

Skin glowing so radiant under the setting sun,

Full breasts screaming to break free from their confines;

Eeew,

Indeed my eyes should be reproached.

She almost walked past before I found my voice:

"Hey, you walk so fast,

You sure have the speed of a horse.

Hey baby, hop into the car,

Let’s take you to a nice resort."

She turned my way, halting,

And stared back at me:

"Seriously, I wasn't galloping,

I stopped to wonder if you were talking to me,

'Cause if you don't mind,

I'd rather I keep on walking."

I smiled, taking off my glasses:

"Beauties like you should not be allowed that stress,

The government should put a law against it,

Walking home alone from work is nothing for a princess."

"I have no crown on my head,

What makes you think I'm a princess?" She said.

"I love your sarcasm,

But hey lets take a recess.

There's a little dope restaurant

opposite that little old seamstress.

You must be tired of walking,

Let me take you there."

She scoffed and on she kept walking.

I revved up the car and slowly followed in her pursuit.

The scene brought a little heat

I had to take off my suit.

"I hope this doesn't offend you

But I think you're just too cute,

Too cute to behold,

Too cute not to give a hoot."

"Oh for Pete's sake,

Why can men never let a pretty girl be?"

"So you'd rather talk to that ol' Bobrisky than talk to me?

For my conscience's sake,

Please let me get you a biscuit."

Oh, how she rolled her eyes.

"So it's biscuits now, no longer ice cream?"

"Anything for you darling,

Anything to please my queen."

She replied no more, walking even quicker.

I cannot take no for an answer, not from this damsel.

I can't be rejected,

And definitely not by this jewel.

Pulling the car to a halt,

I jumped down and followed her.

"What can I do,

Oh, what can I do to earn your attention?"

"I need nothing from you,

Not even your life's pension."

"Honestly I feel a thing,

A sparkle, something like a connection.

It emerges like a spring,

A spring-like milky suspension.

Would you be my girl,

Together we'll build the next generation."

"NAY!"

"Oh, do not say nay,"

Not before hearing all I have to say."

"What else have you to say that warrants you blocking my way?"

"Do not think this is a game.

Take me not for a player who's out just to party and play.

I wouldn't do this if I didn't think it was Fate

Who has brought my soul mate

across my way this day."

Please I beg of you,

Do not say nay."

"Nay!"

"Oh there you go again.

But wait,

For you I'm ready to take a million bullets;

I'm ready to battle and walk on eggshells.

On nails and thorns I'll walk,

Yea, Even if my thousandth test was to swim across oceans over to the earth's end.

I will take not a rest

Until I find you again,

North, East, South or West."

"No!"

"You know, your beauty's like the night;

By it I'm deeply inspired,

Seeing how the stars sparkle with light

Your eyes are like those light,

Twinkling seductively yet innocently to me,

But yet away so far."

"Stop," she screamed. "Please stop this!"

But I'd not be deterred; this is not for me to miss.

"Now I know how my kids will look like.

Some will have my lips,

Some will take your golden hair.

And our skin colors mixed

My, a color so fair!

I want it to be four,

A girl, two boys, and then a girl.

May the heavens concur,

But of course Providence always has something better in

store."

Slightly she chuckled: "Well, that would be lovely.

But unfortunately, it's still a no."

"Damn, your laughter has caught me inside a whirlpool.

How your frame dances in a sweet romantic tune.

You may say a thousand NOs

But I feel there's a yes beneath it, too."

"No, no, no, HELL NOOO!"

"Yes, yes, yes, heaven YEEESSS!

Can't you see the heavens are opened?

Don’t you hear a still clear voice saying,

'Accept him, and together you shall be blessed?'"

"Hahaha, you make me laugh."

"That's not all I want to do, my dear,

I want to make you my wife."

She gave a moment's pause.

She seemed to be in thought.

"Well, let's see where this goes,

If it’s for a day, week, a month or whatnot."

I must be going insane, or indeed she just said yes?

"Did I hear you well?

Was that a yes, I mean, do you accept?"

She tilted her pretty little head to the left and said,

"Well let's just call that my way of showing respect."

(LOL)

Wrote this sometime in 2018 on Facebook just for fun. Now when I read it, I can't help but feel silly

ProsehumorFor FunBallad
1

About the Creator

Victory Harry Izevbekhai

Content Writer and Fictionist; I share my thoughts and experiences about life, well-being, and remote work

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.