Poets logo

The promise

No regrets

By Esther AmiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by alleksana on Pexels

You made me a promise

I was the fool

When everyone said you'd leave

I believed your lies

They said your kind never stay

I fought hard to be the one

To hold you down

I could never keep you

Lord knows I tried

Maybe I hoped too long

Searched so hard this felt real

I could finally take a breath

I thought this was rest

Guess I was wrong to assume

You sure did fool me

Taught my heart to believe

Learned to love again

Give my heart away

I regret nothing

I live with the consequences of my actions

I chose you, I did this

I want to say you hurt me

But that's not true

I hurt me by letting you in

I'll be kind to me now

You had your chance

Now it's my turn

To love and to live

To be my own reason for living

I owe this to you

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.