Poets logo

The Price of Ego and Pride

Ego will run us into the ground if we let it. My ego left alone to run rampant caused chaos. I had to let go.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
The Price of Ego and Pride
Photo by Luke Tanis on Unsplash

Ego such a small word for such a large part of our lives

An even larger problem to deal with

My ego was that of a lion's pride

It went unchallenged for many years

My truth is that my ego was constantly being bruised by the smallest actions

It was so large and out of control

The reaction never fit the action

My response fit how my ego felt bruised and hurt

By Altin Ferreira on Unsplash

If someone hurt me

I made it my duty to make them hurt too

As much pain as possible

That was my motto

Create chaos

Make them as miserable as you feel

By Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

As long as my ego got its fill nothing else mattered

But I hated myself

I hated my overinflated ego

Covering up for the scared, and lost little boy inside

That boy who didn’t know who he was

Without the pain

Because I bonded with my trauma

By Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

I had a crab mentality

Dragging down anyone who dare escape

Everyone would suffer like me

We would all boil in the pot together

How foolish I was

When I stopped letting my ego run free

I became free

Free to roam the ocean as a crab

Where I belonged

Not dying in some pot

Surrounded by the same mentality

I once had

By Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.