Poets logo

The Pleasure of Purple

by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
21
The Pleasure of Purple
Photo by Nabajyoti Ray on Unsplash

Purple is my favorite color – I’ve always thought it grand.

If you care to find out why, I’ll give the word firsthand.

☂️

Purple is an artist’s mix of red and blue.

When you blend them both together, you get a different hue.

💜

Why do I like purple so much?

Is it food, like grapes, plums, eggplants and such?

🍇

Or is it a flower of purple that spellbinds –

Violets, lavender, lilacs, or other kinds?

🥀

Maybe something animalistic is the key,

Like birds, butterflies or creatures of the sea.

🦄

All of these things are great to me,

But I like purple because it makes me feel like royalty.

🎆

Purple is my husband’s favorite, and his late mother, so this poem is dedicated to Ted and Ann Lacksonen. Purple can be symbolic of gays and lesbians, which is fine by me, but I like it simply because it is beautiful.

list
21

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Purple is my 4th favourite colour!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice. I like purple too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.