Poets logo

The Play Was Thwarted

In a forgotten romance

By Colleen Millsteed Published 9 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2023
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Yesterday I reached out and tried to span the crippling years,

I just wanted to hear your voice once more,

I hope you know how you played upon the hours of my mind,

As I imagined your celebrations and happiness restored.

❤️

I dreamed the sun was shining upon the darkening cloud over your head,

And wished it was me that placed a good morning kiss upon your lips,

Another year has rotated and set the world spinning,

But you and I, well we never rehearsed our worded scripts.

❤️

I didn’t get my wish,

But that doesn’t mean I hope you missed yours too,

As I still want to believe a smile graces your face,

And you enjoyed your day surrounded in deja vu.

❤️

Do you still remember?

Does it play upon your mind?

Or have I been forgotten within the vortex of time,

Far off in the forgotten distance and left far behind?

❤️

I’d be content if I could believe that for a golden second

You released me from your downtrodden years,

Took me out, dusted me off,

And let me wash away your tears.

❤️

Once we were the destruction of our universe,

Standing side by side against the battle of our darkest nights,

Hand in hand, we couldn’t be beaten,

Winning the gauntlet of emotions and scar driven fights.

❤️

But now the distance widens every day,

And you’ve probably forgotten this girl you once knew,

But she carries you deep within her heart,

Where you rule the roost and carry her through.

❤️

So I’ll say goodnight once more,

Believing you’re where you need to be,

I’ll lock the tower door,

And leave you out there — happy and free.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

love poems

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Andrea Corwin 8 months ago

    Nice poem conveying emotions many people feel or have felt.

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Nice poem , congratulations on top story

  • Sugan Ya 9 months ago

    Beautiful poem..! I loved it... Congratulations on the Top story

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is so bittersweet and evocative. I love these lines: ‘ Does it play upon your mind? Or have I been forgotten within the vortex of time’. Just gorgeous. Congrats on such a well deserved top story

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    & congrats Colleen on your terrific top story!! ☺️👏🎉🎉

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Excellent work! I really enjoyed this line, "I dreamed the sun was shining upon the darkening cloud over your head, And wished it was me that placed a good morning kiss upon your lips," 😮. Loved it! and also, the cover design of your book is amazing 🤩! Happy to subscribe!

  • Louis O Mackenzie9 months ago

    Hey, great poem and congrats on top story! I told you you’d get one eventually! Congrats

  • JBaz9 months ago

    Well, that moved me. Well done and congratulations

  • Brenton F9 months ago

    Every single line pulled at parts of me I thought long left behind - So very well done - congrats!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Hey, great poem and congrats on top story! I told you you’d get one eventually! Congrats!

  • StoryholicFinds9 months ago

    Great story and congrats ♥️

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    Let me say, first, congratulations on achieving TOP STORY status. You deserve it. This was such an awesome poem an brings back so many memories. I keep thinking to myself, "maybe someday", but at my age, that's just a dream.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Very poignant Colleen. An impressive, heartfelt poem. 😔☺️

  • This was so sad 😭😭😭 But I'm not good enough to be like her. I hope he's miserable, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Bittersweet memories now ended lock away until you open it up again

  • Such a beautiful poem, so well done, truly enjoy reading your work...

  • This makes me think of Marian from "The Music Man" singing "Goodnight My Someone", though on the other side of finding love. Such tender wishes, grace & forgiveness.

  • Linda Rivenbark9 months ago

    This poem is so beautiful and so sad. I can relate to it, as it touches a part of my life. Wonderful expression of some bittersweet emotions.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Beautiful love poem!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Sweet piece♥️📝✌️

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.