Poets logo

The Plain Bagel Letter

The Struggle Of The Plain Bagel

By MdotJamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Social Media Addicts,

Today I will introduce you to the "The Plain Bagel Struggle."

As a plain bagel (a woman that does not wear makeup), I sometimes struggle to stick to my own personal beliefs. I have once again considered wearing makeup, and once again I have decided not to give in. This is a challenging PERSONAL journey of mine that I started as a teenager. There is always pressure from society to present myself to the world the way the world wants to see me. Especially when it comes to being feminine. It's an odd requirement that some people have. To be considered a feminine woman, I must cover up my true appearance. I fight the societal pressure because I know that makeup is not a good idea for me.

I know for a fact that I wouldn’t wear makeup for the right reasons. I wouldn’t wear makeup to be artistic like my mom and a few other women I know. I’d wear makeup to hide my flaws. I feel that if I did that, I would begin to only value my best features while burying my flaws where I cannot see them. I love me, and I would like to keep on loving me. It took me a while to love and appreciate every part of myself, and I don't want to go backwards. I embrace the plain bagel that is me and rejoice in the fact that I haven’t given in to the cream cheese.

😁😁

Forever LoOpy,

MdotJam

P.S. Checkout Letters From MdotJam Podcast https://anchor.fm/mdotjam

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

MdotJam

Journal blogger that writes about self-analyzation, self reflection, epiphanies, and personal growth.

There is also a podcast to go along side my journal pieces

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.