Poets logo

The Plagiaristic Final Chapter

This is an attempt to fuse the Vocal Acrostic Challenge with the Titles of Final Chapters Of Books In My Library. The format is a doctored sonnet as a sonnet has 16 lines and DISTRACTION has only 11 letters so eleven lines, so two quatrains and a tercet.

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago β€’ 2 min read
9

The Prompt

Write an acrostic using the word DISTRACTION.

Read all about it here

This is an attempt to fuse the Vocal Acrostic Challenge with the Titles of Final Chapters of Books in my Library. The format is a doctored sonnet as a sonnet has 16 lines and DISTRACTION has only 11 letters so eleven lines, so two quatrains and a tercet.

This has been difficult trying to find Final Chapters beginning with the letter "I" plus the length of the lines set by the one starting "In" which has made it a little cumbersome in my opinion. The second "In" is a penultimate chapter but I have decided I have been through enough books to satisfy my task.

Once you have the chapter names, then you have to create the poem. I wonder if anyone knows any of these chapters and the books they come from. At least one is very obvious.

I was gonna use Europe's "Final Countdown" as the music but I then discovered this Swing Metal version by Connor Engstrom. Have you ever heard of Swing Metal? Should it exist? I think this is geat fun, so give it a listen while you read my poem.

πŸ“šπŸ§ΎπŸ—‘οΈπŸ¦‰βš”οΈπŸ“πŸ“–

Doomed Lord's Passing And Empires Will Fall, Crushed By Their Conquerors As Airmen Watch From Their Swift Flying Lofty Nests

In Which It Is Shown That Phileas Fogg Gained Nothing By His Tour Around The World Unless It Were Happiness.

Shock Horror I Cannot Believe That I Have Sunk Myself Into This Distracting Literary Wordy Mess

The End Of Celluloid Has No Doubt Signified That Entertainment Had Finally Gone Digital No Less

πŸ“šπŸ¦‰πŸ“–

Rumpole Rests His Case This Work Needs A Very Funny Barrister To Carry It Through To The Final Judgement

Abide With Me As I Push On With Elonganted And Sometimes Irrelevant Words To Tell You What I Meant

Captain Korzeniowski Is A Character I Don't Know Except He Spent Much Of His Time Doing Nothing

Things I Have Enjoyed Since The Time I Thought I Would Never Enjoy Anything Again, Music, Reading, And Loving

πŸ“šπŸ¦‰πŸ“–

In Which This Story, As Truthful As It Is Improbable, Is Finished, This Was A Cheat But I Made It Blend

Out Of Nothing I Have Created A Strange New Universe For Me To Enjoy And Share With Loving Friends

Nature Boy Is What I Am, I Love The World, Animals, And Trees. And So My Distraction Acrostic Ends

πŸ“šπŸ§ΎπŸ—‘οΈπŸ¦‰βš”οΈπŸ“πŸ“–

social commentarysurreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    I misunderstood Plagiaristic Final Chapter to be the finale of this series and I was so sad. Then I read your subtitle and was relieved. This was a brilliant combo of acrostic, plagiaristic and doctored sonnet!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Impressive!!! Awesome work living it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    I can see that a lot of thought went into this one. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.