Poets logo

The pillow, I call home.

behind closed eyes my body relaxes.

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The pillow, I call home.
Photo by Calvin Hanson on Unsplash

My head on the pillow, I close my eyes and spell home.

Behind my eyes, I forget where I am.

My head on the pillow, makes it home.

Rest a while, it is cold outside.

A long time ago, there was a lap,

I made my home.

My granny’s generous girth

Was safety, love, belonging.

Now my head on a pillow, gives me comfort and rest.

My legs have carried me through the day.

Laden with sorrow and joy. Tears that won’t shed.

The world in my backpack.

Even a fire, I can light, bringing me back

To the family hearth, giving warmth and food.

Those places, I needn‘t have gone.

Their stories haunt me,

The stares of the people follow me.

No point on this earth would I call home.

My head on a pillow, I am home.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.