Poets logo

The Phoenix

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Soaring away, what could I provide

Do you not perceive

Of my dying inside

Are you so naive

To believe I'm alive

Or that skeleton keys

Could unlock what I hide

In the cellars of cold,

Dark, abysses bereft

Of the soul I have sold

For recompense left

To steal my heart gold

In a present-tense theft

Of the treasures I hold

In troves now discarded

By knightly assails

Of princesses guarded

Beneath my chain mails

In armor regarded

As legendary scales

Of dragons bombarded

By dreadnought regret

In a galleon remorse

Oceanic lament

On my rocking seahorse

Capsizing I've sent

Myself drifting off course

Until I can forget

The lies I have tasted

Seduced by desire

The lives I have wasted

Consumed by the ire

Until I embraced it

My funeral pyre

Reborn to melt faces

With phoenix sun fire

inspirational

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael Brandon MarcheseWritten by Michael Brandon Marchese

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.