Poets logo

The Phase of Being Blue

A journey from heartbreak to self love

By tezzaxooPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like

I feel like I'm a phase to you, someone to turn to when you're feeling blue.

A touch of sweet love, admiration and affection. So why do I feel pain, heartache and rejection?

I would have travelled the world, the deepest depths of the ocean. Just to make you happy, your own personal brand of potion.

But it would never be enough, all that I do. For I am just a phase, for when you're feeling blue.

A quick dopamine fix, when you need to feel wanted, while I'm hanging off a string of your love, forever being taunted.

But I'm so drained, my water has all soaked up. So all I can say is, I wish you the best of luck.

I hope you find happiness, within yourself and more. But you're no longer someone I have the energy to wait for.

And why should I, you see? Wait for you. For I am but a phase, for when you're feeling blue.

I deserve the world, given on a silver platter. But my heart to you, is not an important matter.

I'm forever in fight or flight, just waiting for your call. Sometimes I wish you just wouldn't call at all.

My younger self is screaming, why can't this be? Why can't he love us, love you, love me?

Sweet child... it's now time for us to go. But we will blossom through the pain like the flowers that grow.

Every scar is a lesson, one we must learn. For it is the art of self love that we truly must yearn.

So hold your head high and remember, you're so much more, than this heartache and pain they're making you endure.

But we will replant our soil, and water our roots. Find love within ourselves and the labour of our fruits.

I no longer need, nor yearn to be important to you. For I will no longer be the phase, for when you're feeling blue.

I will no longer be the dopamine fix when you need to feel wanted. I will cut myself free from your string of being taunted.

Now the time has come, for me to say goodbye. For I would rather greave you now, than forever cry.

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

tezzaxoo

Inspiring writer, lover of all things poetry and passion. Words can hold a thousand meanings and shelter a thousand more emotions - all of which can be released onto paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • tezzaxoo (Author)11 months ago

    Apologies for misspelling grieve, promise I can spell.. usually!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.