Poets logo

The Person not the Parent

Samuels Thoughts the Blog

By Samuel Published 7 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
2
Photo: me and my son

How old were you when you found out who your parents were? Not who mommy is, not who Daddy is, but who they were as humans outside of being a parent? I vividly remember my experience. When you are a kid, you really only see your parents as mom and dad in parent form. You see them love, protect, and provide for you. But as you get older, you start to notice their mannerisms towards other adults, other people, and sometimes even towards you, their own child.

As a parent myself, and a great dad, my kids love me as a father and think of me as their world. But it's also crucial that I make sure I make proper decisions and am a decent human being, because one day my kids will see who I am outside of being a father. I encourage all parents to sit back and make sure they are aware that their children will grow up fast and quick, and one day you will be looked at as more than just "mom" and "dad". Make sure, when that day comes, your children will be happy and proud of the person that's revealed.

-Samuel

-Samuel

artinspirational
2

About the Creator

Samuel

3x best selling author * Writer & Blogger

I write what you need to read not what you want to read the elephant in the room will always be addressed ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ˜

Instagram: @samuelshouseofart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • LC Brown7 months ago

    Great thought on our personal accountability to protect our character, especially for our children's sake. You can take away every possession I own and even slander my name, but you can never take away my character! My character will always be my true legacy to my children!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.