Poets logo

The Patriot

A poem about being thankful

By Rachel HarrisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Patriot
Photo by Jon Sailer on Unsplash

Today, I say thank you

For all you have done

For the freedom provided

For the courage you've shown

For the lives that were planted deep

so others could grow

Patriotism and pride

Swell up inside me

Like the waves of the tide

They move and they turn

My emotions with ease

The tears well up inside me

and run down my cheeks

I thank you and will

till the day that I die

I thank you as long

as our striped flag will fly

Many people provided

so many freedoms for me

I'm glad to stand

and it's my duty to sing

With Patriotism

for the Country I love

I stand here in silence

remembering all that you've done

With prayers for the families of fallen soldiers like you

Today I say thank you

For doing what I couldn't do

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Harris

when

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.